Delta Upsilon - University of Kansas

Spring 2014 Newsletter

Kansas Chapter of Delta Upsilon at the University of Kansas

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 1 of 3

The Sunflower Page 2 W e wish to thank all those who have supported the annual campaign. Alumni who have contributed to the 2013 appeals are listed by graduation year under the appropriate giving levels. (Note: this list does not reflect donations to the capital campaign.) A complete list of lifetime annual giving can be found on the website at If an error has been made in recording your gift, or your name has been mistakenly omitted or listed improperly, we sincerely apologize. Please send corrections to the Kansas Chapter of Delta Upsilon, P.O. Box 1611, Lawrence, KS 66044. Thank you, again, for giving back to the Chapter—it truly does make a difference! LoyaL aLumni, We Thank you Leadership Club ($5,000 and above) 1834 Club ($2,500 to $4,999) Charles R. Harrison '69 Cornerstone Club ($1,000 to $2,499) Thomas H. Rinehart '57 Steven I. Walsh '68 Brian A. Bracco '73 1025 Club ($500 to $999) Lee R. Bittenbender, M.D. '68 Jeffrey T. Joyce '73 Grant J. Milleret '75 T. Teal Dakan '78 Blue & Gold Club ($150 to $499) Glenn E. McCann '38 Earl H. Clark, M.D. '42 Clarke L. Henry, M.D. '44 J. Kenneth Higdon '48 George W. Francis '50 Lorrimer Armstrong Jr. '55 Ellis D. Evans '56 Patrick D. Bolen '58 Jerrad J. Hertzler '58 Lynn H. Miller '59 Robert L. Randels '59 Gary A. Gibson '60 K. Michael Berkley '61 Lawrence G. Wilson, M.D. '62 Ronald L. Mastin '63 Thomas A. Hamill '64 L. Gene Shofner '64 Roger M. Morrison '65 Brian L. Biles '66 Philip A. Shontz '67 Hon. David J. Waxse '67 Blake A. Biles '68 Christopher L. Saricks '70 Thomas J. Futo '71 Richard A. Hiebsch '71 Britt A. Buckley, M.D. '76 Barton L. Duckworth '77 Douglas C. Stark '78 Phillip F. Hagan, M.D. '81 Michael J. Snodgrass '89 Grant O. Kaufman '92 Kurtis S. Rhoden '92 Phillip M. Frerker '93 Jacob D. Wassenberg '97 Terry Delp '99 Jayhawk Club ($25 to $149) Alfred F. Gallup '38 Norvell J. Osborn '52 Robert E. Raymer '52 William C. Salome III '52 Charles T. Hinshaw, M.D. '54 Byron E. Springer '54 Rev. Robert N. Alpers '55 William C. Brainard '56 Frank Mastin '57 Dr. John L. Reese '57 Bruce E. Taber '58 Marshall L. Crowther '59 Warren A. Wandling '59 Larry R. Gamble '64 Karl E. Becker Jr. '65 Hon. Donald W. Bostwick '65 Jeffrey O. Heeb '65 James E. Brink '67 Halley E. Kampschroeder '67 Robert E. Myers '68 Charles R. Cram '69 Mark L. Miller '70 James E. Cram '71 Charles R. Cook '75 Scott A. Wells '75 Michael R. Wesley, M.D. '75 Paul D. Miller '76 Steven W. Smith '81 Jeffrey A. Wheat '86 Michael W. Lawrenc'88 Brian E. Perott '91 Kevin M. Shields '91 Lung Huang '99 John K. White '96 Dallas Rakestraw '03 Brett T. Koehn '11 James Monson '12 for DU, while also participating in campus organizations like New Student Orientation and Student Senate. Phil appreciates these experiences even today, saying, "They gave me opportunities to work with people who had different perspectives and ideas, while still trying to achieve a common goal." Phil serves as the merchandise director for Hallmark Gold Crown stores, where he is accountable for the merchandise strategy and execution of a range of products in over 2,400 retail stores in North America. He was recently awarded the 2014 Distinguished Alumnus Award, an honor he felt undeserving of, but is honored to receive. Phil knows that the house and fraternity he so dearly loves will continue on its path of excellence in the coming years. Phil says he is "very proud of today's undergraduates. DU remains a top chapter at KU, and I think relative to the time I was at KU, they are doing a better job consistently with their grades. That's critical for today's ultra- competitive job market." He enjoys staying involved with the Kansas Chapter, and over the past 20 years has volunteered his time in various ways. He served as chapter advisor, on the Corporation Board and Educational Foundation, and more recently has been helping plan the spring alumni event. For Phil, "DU doesn't have to be past tense." He still keeps in touch with brothers from the Kansas Chapter via Facebook, LinkedIn, e-mail, and occasional get-togethers in Kansas City. He hopes his brothers who have lost touch can reconnect with old buddies to renew friendships or identify networking opportunities. Phil lives in Leawood, Kansas, with wife Nikki (KU Theta '93) and four children: Catherine (14), Anna (12), Josh (11), and Pete (4). He stays busy while continuing to serve his community on the boards of the Kansas City Repertory Theatre, Spofford Home Foundation, Centurions Leadership Program, United Way Young Leaders Society, and being an active member of his church. E-mail: Frerker Named 2014 Distinguished Alumnus (Continued from page 1) Lloyd Houston Scholarship Winners 4.0 G.P.A. $200 Chris Bell '13 Griffin Bins '17 Taylor Norris '17 Robert Tung '16 3.99-3.75 G.P.A. $150 Georga Ablah '15 William Crooks '17 Patrick Hannifan '15 Cole Kretchmarr '16 Timothy Richards '17 3.74-3.5 G.P.A. $125 Will Ehrman '17 Connor Faust '14 Tyler Flores '16 Ryan Karline '15 Patrick Smith '15 Mitch Sneed '16 Kenneth Altendofer '17 3.49-3.25 G.P.A. $100 Joseph Blake '15 Theodore Fields '15 Pete Fiore '14 Cole Franken '17 Will Furhman '17 James Lee '15 Hal HcCoy '15 Trevor McGowan '15 Robert Moore '16 Ian Mutschelknaus '17 Brandon Rooney '14 Devin Vickers '17 Jonathan Whitlow '15 Austin Scobee '15 T he Delta Upsilon Lloyd Houston Scholarship is a permanently endowed fund maintained by the KU Endowment Association and provides academic scholarships to the Kansas Chapter students. Congratulations to the following brothers who won a Lloyd Houston Scholarship in 2013. Gifts in support of this valuable scholarship program can be made out to KU Endowment Association (memo: Lloyd Houston Scholarship Fund), and mailed to The Kansas University Endowment Association, P.O. Box 928, Lawrence, KS 66044.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Delta Upsilon - University of Kansas - Spring 2014 Newsletter