Up & Coming Weekly

November 14, 2017

Up and Coming Weekly is a weekly publication in Fayetteville, NC and Fort Bragg, NC area offering local news, views, arts, entertainment and community event and business information.

Issue link: http://www.epageflip.net/i/900751

Contents of this Issue


Page 12 of 32

12 UCW NOVEMBER 15 - 21, 2017 WWW.UPANDCOMINGWEEKLY.COM Fayetteville's new city council is set to be sworn in next month. Mitch Colvin's election as mayor came de- spite being outspent two-to-one and being characterized by Mayor Nat Robertson as unfit for office. There will be two fresh faces, and two for- mer members will return to council. Newcomers include former council- men D.J. Haire and Johnny Dawkins, who will represent Districts 4 and 5 respectively. Tyrone Williams and Tisha Waddell will represent Districts 2 and 3. Incumbents Ted Mohn, Bill Crisp, Larry Wright, Kathy Jensen and Jim Arp won re-election. Elsewhere in Cumberland County, Hope Mills Mayor Jackie Warner won a fourth term by defeating Keith Bowen. Mike Mitchell, Meg Larson, Jerry Legge, Pat Edwards and Jes- sie Bellf lowers will comprise the new town board of commissioners. Mitchell was the leading vote-getter. Incumbent commissioner Bryan Marley lost his bid for re-election. Warner observed that the three newcomers have been involved in civic affairs for some time. Mitchell is a former mayor pro tem. Bellf lowers is chairman of the town Lake Adviso- ry Committee, and Larson has been a political observer. Commissioner Jerry Legge will serve his seventh term. Also in Hope Mills, 57 percent of the 1,000 voters favored a ballot is- sue authorizing the on-premises sale of malt beverages. Spring Lake Mayor Chris Rey retired. Mayor Pro Tem Larr y Dob- bins becomes the new chief execu- tive. Incumbent Aldermen James O'Garra, Fredricka Sutherland and James Christian remain on the board. Political newcomers Jackie Jackson and Sona Cooper fill out the five-member board of aldermen. In Stedman, Martin "Mardy" Jones was elected mayor. Jon Wayne Mosley and Paul Pirro won election to the board of commissioners. In the newly-incorporated town of Eastover, Charles G. McLaurin won his unopposed election for mayor. Retired educator Lawrence Buffaloe, Bruce Sykes and Randy Lee were elected to the town council. In Wade, longtime mayor Joe Dixon was unopposed. Johnny Lanthorn, Kenny Griffin, Ray Edwards, John Nunnery and Johnny Saw yer will serve on the board of commissioners. Marie But ler w ill stay on as mayor of Linden. Barbara Denning, Larr y Overby, Bobby Garner, Ronnie Maness and Frances Collier were elected to t he Linden Board of Commissioners. Willie Burnett was re-elected mayor of Godwin. Town commis- sioners include Donald McInt yre, George Cooper Jr., Ronald McNeil and Darold Dugger. And in Falcon, Clifton Turpin Jr. was re-elected mayor. Wiley Clark, Jerry Lucas Sr., Rayford Dunning and John Gipson were elected to the board of commissioners. Gipson was a write-in candidate. Local election results by JEFF THOMPSON NEWS JEFF THOMPSON, Senior News Reporter. COMMENTS? news@ upandcomingweekly.com. (910) 484-6200. With the 2017 election cycle complete, there are some new faces throughout Cumberland County's governing bodies – and some familiar ones, too. Celebrate all your LIFE moments at FAYETTEVILLE'S FAVORITE NEIGHBORHOOD RESTAURANT 48 CRAFT BEERS, DAILY DRINK SPECIALS DJ BINGO Every Thursday at 7:00PM QUALITY FOOD YOU EXPECT, SERVICE YOU DESERVE ALL FRESH NATURAL INGREDIENTS OFF THE BONE SMOKED RIBS, TENDER BEEF BRISKET, PULLED PORK AND OUR SIGNATURE TOMATO PIE MONDAYS 4PM - 10PM | TUES - THURS 11AM - 10PM FRI - SAT 11AM - 12AM | SUNDAY NOON - 9PM WWW.BLACKSTONESMOKEHOUSE.COM 2801 RAEFORD RD • 910.491.7029 SPECIALIZING IN: (ACROSS FROM CHICK-FIL-A) LOCALLY OWNED & OPERATED • ALL ABC PERMITS

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Up & Coming Weekly - November 14, 2017