Fall 2019 Newsletter

Fraternity & Sorority Political Action Committee newsletter

Issue link: http://www.epageflip.net/i/1165800

Contents of this Issue


Page 4 of 5

A Β Γ Δ Ε Ζ Η Θ Ι Κ Λ Μ Ν Ξ O P Ρ ΣΤ ΥΦ Χ Ψ Ω Political Action Committee future generations of student leaders 5 Annual FSPAC Dinner Celebrates Fraternal Experience T he Fraternity and Sorority Political Action Committee held its annual reception and dinner April 10 in Washington, D.C., at the Liaison Hotel. The 300 guests that evening included donors, student leaders, and alumnae and alumni from fraternal organizations from across the country. Many of them had visited Capitol Hill that day to ask lawmakers to support and co-sponsor the Collegiate Freedom of Association Act and two bills to increase transparency and accountability for hazing incidents. The highlight of the program was hearing from students who spoke passionately about the meaning of their fraternal experience. Brooklyn Boreing, ΔΓ, of Texas State University; Mitchell Rosenberg, ΔΤΔ, of Chapman University; and Donna Shahbazi, ΔΖ, of Creighton University, each shared a personal story about the impact their sisters and brothers had on their lives. All three student speakers were student body presidents at their institutions during the past school year. Also, two long-standing champions of the fraternal movement and former members of Congress, Pete Sessions (R-TX/PΚA) and Kevin Yoder (R-KS/ΛΧA), were both recognized and thanked for their pronounced commitment to our needs and issues. 2019-2020 Executive Committee President Howard Pickett, ΣΝ President-Elect Phyllis Grissom, ΔΔΔ VP Communications Tom Decker, ΔΣΦ VP Fundraising Mike Greenberg, ΣΧ VP Political Affairs Ben Satcher Jr., KA Order Secretary Leslie Williams, ΔΖ Treasurer Andrea Bechtel, ΧΩ Executive Director Kevin O'Neill, ΛΧA Executive Committee Members Julie Burkhard, AΧΩ Maureen Calloway Carnevale, AΔΠ Mike Church, ΣΧ Laurie Connor, KAΘ Val Lawlor, AΦ Michael Mayer, ΘΧ Paul Norcross, ZBT Christine Rocchio, ΔΓ Larry Wiese, KA Order Student representative Brooklyn Boreing, ΔΓ, Texas State University. Alpha Gamma Delta delegation with Past International President Rie Hoeher (left). Donna Shabazi, ΔΖ, Creighton University. Student representative Mitchell Rosenberg, ΤΚΕ, University of Washington (third from left) sits next to Representative Greg Gianforte (R-MT/ΔΤΔ) and his wife, Susan Gianforte, with the Delta Tau Delta delegation.

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of FSPAC - Fall 2019 Newsletter